BY GLENN ADAMS

As a small town boy from the east of England with roots in east London, visiting cities have always been the norm for me, so a trip to Paris to celebrate my first anniversary with my girlfriend Kim seemed like an opportunity to take plenty of “touristy” photos and soak up the romantic atmosphere.

 

From the second we arrived it was love for both of us taking morning walks down the banks of the Seine (granted it was October so it was a tad chilly) and browsing the small boutique shops of the latin quarter.

What really grabbed me for the whole of my stay was the underground graffiti art of Paris. Using conventional spray and stencil work with prints and graphics the results are unique and always eye catching.

 All cities have their own underground art scene each with its own feel and style but the Parisian style is truly something else.

I had fallen in love with this Paris that mixes English and French to express the new, making you feel like one of the cool kids being invited.

The biggest embodiment I found of this was in Rue Saint-Honoré in a store called Colette, literally selling everything you need to impress and burn a few hundred euros. It wasn’t the shop that impressed me though, but what was on the side of the building, a white garage door with simple blue spray paint that somehow made me stop in my tracks.

 

LINKS
http://www.glennadamsphotography.co.uk/

Many thanks for your observations Glenn – it’s great to see how other people pick up on the style of cities and think that this offers another viewpoint of this over photographed city! And best wishes to you and Kim!

So what’s in your neighbourhood?

I am putting out a request for contributors for the “my type of… place” section of this blog and would like you to put together your own typographic tour. If you are interested, download the contributors information sheet for more details, ideas and specifications here.

