A recent trip to Downham Market resulted in a good collection of typographic images; this is the second post I have made from this same trip. Above is a  French sign donated by their twin town.


I was a little disappointed in how little stone cut lettering there was. Maybe I’ll see more when I go next time.


I love the composition of these two signs, old and new.


This sign marks an alley between two buildings, barely wide enough for a person, let alone a horse, rampant or otherwise!


Some interesting(?) stained glass on a private house that fronts directly onto the street. I like the idea that this house may once have been a pub…


There are still some good examples of 1960’s and 70’s signage in Downham too, like this bike shop…


And Reeds department store has held onto its curved corner glass despite the trend to replace everything with flat plate glass and plastic. Up above the tall shop fascia, right in between two windows is mounted this little sign, looking oddly scorched.


Nothing like a bit of Art Deco to set the scene, and a prominent local hostelry does quite well on the lettering too, with it’s large black 3D name across the castellated roofline, as well as a painted ironwork archway in front of the door.


This sign seemed a little overly elaborate for what it is, but I guess its position directly across from the local primary school necessitates its visual extravagance. On the school (Clackclose)  itself I found these disappearing letters on one of the school gates. On the other side it read GIRLS, but that was almost invisible. I imagine there was once a boys entrance too, but I could not find it.


I also spotted this  neat trompe l’oeil in a bricked up first floor window.


My Fair Lady still proudly wears her outdated typography, whilst the SALE signs tacked up in the window look like they have seen much better days…


A little way down a very narrow alley with bars either end is this sign which obviously is left from an earlier period when the adjacent building had not been built.


Downham also has a ‘Posting Box’ too – very posh. Not far from here is a place I had forgotten existed:


I wanted to go in and get some more images but the lady inside looked exceptionally hostile. Taking heed of the sign above the door I reluctantly passed on, but not before taking this one through the window:


Near to the war memorial, high up on the gable end of a house is this small stone sign. Whilst on the memorial itself (very traditional, very poignant) is this sign:


Any particular persons? Or just persons in general? Is there a problem with persons getting on the memorial in Downham? Is this just a Health and Safety message in general? Perhaps we’ll never know…


There is a little 1970’s shopping precinct right in the town centre, and in the middle of a large expanse of beige brickwork I came across these two stones.

As I arrived back at the car park at the end of my visit I was greeted by a little typographic advertising. A fitting end.

