By Natasha Nuttall

For a Student who has just moved away from home to University the first trip into the town/city centre will probably be in search of cheap food/booze. But then Graphic Design students aren’t normal students, are they? As a new student on the BA(Hons) Graphic Design course, exploring Lincoln properly for the first time I was on the look out for typography!

Lincoln is a historic town, most famous for its Cathedral, which has links to the Magna Carta. When it was drawn up in 1215 the Bishop of Lincoln, Hugh of Wells was a witness, and now one of only four surviving original documents is housed in Lincoln Castle.


Lincoln’s earliest remains can be traced back to 1st Century BC, around the Iron Age! The name is thought to originate from the Iron Age’s Celtic language, first as Lindon which is a reference to ‘The Pool’ now known as Brayford Pool. It was later Latinised to Lindum and later converted to Lincoln through the English Language. 


I actually stumbled across this road sign and photographed it without knowing the historical background; must have been woman’s intuition?

Steep Hill is the appropriately named link between Uphill, the historic quarter and Downhill, the modern city centre. Along Steep Hill small shops and café/tearooms can be found. I loved this little stencil sign on the end of one of the buildings!


Readers Rest: A Graphic Designer’s heaven?


Up high, I spotted some ghost typography on the walls of buildings near to Lincoln College.


I think I can just about make out ‘Chester’ and ‘Works’?


I was intrigued to find this characteristic ‘typo’ on the Public Library.


Lincoln is a city that has been developed in stages and so contains many different stages of typography and quite a few inconsistent Corporate Identities! Quite frustrating!

After my first tour of Lincoln it has to be said there are many hidden typographic treasures, old and new. As I get more familiar with the city, I’m sure I will make new discoveries so I plan to keep my eyes alert for more type features to share.

LINKS
Map of Lincoln
University of Lincoln

The Magna Carta (pub)
The Magna Carta (document)
Graphique Fantastique

Thanks for taking the time to put this together whilst you are so busy settling into university life – I’m sure that you will continue to discover more of Lincoln’s hidden typographic history as you progress…

So what’s in your neighbourhood?

I am putting out a request for contributors for the “my type of… place” section of this blog and would like you to put together your own typographic tour. If you are interested, download the contributors information sheet for more details, ideas and specifications here.

